Outstanding Sportsmanship Award Nominations

It is that time of the year again. All members of the IWCA need to consider one person to be awarded the Outstanding Sportsmanship Award for 2022.

The AKC Outstanding Sportsmanship Award program was established in 2006 to provide a parent club member an AKC Medallion to be awarded to one of its own on a yearly basis.

This award honors those individuals who deserve special recognition that have made a difference in the sport of purebred dogs, embodied the AKC Code of Sportsmanship, and have been an active and valued club member of the Irish Wolfhound Club of America.

The Outstanding Sportsmanship Committee is asking all IWCA club members to nominate a fellow member for this honor. The award will be presented at the National Specialty Awards Dinner.

Please submit a short paragraph naming who you think deserves the Outstanding Sportsmanship award and why they should be awarded. Submit to Courtney Smith at avaloniaiw@att.net or messenger me through Facebook. Submissions need to be sent no later than December 31,2022 per the AKC rules.

Past recipients of this award are:

2021 - Joe Roland
2020 - Carol Gabriel
2019 - Jill Bryson
2018 - Doug Marx
2017 – Jeanne Patterson
2016 – MB Kinsella-Topping (posthumously)
2015 – Frances Abrams, PhD
2014 – Melanie Mercer, DVM, CCRT
2013 – Lloyd Simmons
2012 – Linda Souza
2011 – Jackie Carswell
2010 – Rosemary Wortman
2009 – Lois Thomasson
2008 – Pat Reilley
2007 – Mariellen Dentino

« Return to ALL NEWS