Outstanding Sportsmanship Award Nominations for 2023

Once again we are asking all members in good standing to choose someone you think qualifies for the annual AKC Outstanding Sportsmanship Award. The AKC gives our club the opportunity to honor one of our own members. This individual must be a member of the IWCA
in good standing.

The AKC has established this award to honor individuals who deserve special recognition, who have:

  1. Made a difference in the sport of purebred dogs
  2. Embodied the AKC Code of Sportsmanship
  3. And have been an active and valued member of the IWCA

The qualifying individual with the most letters of recommendation will be awarded the Outstanding Sportsmanship medallion at the 2024 National Specialty. The individual is chosen strictly on the number of letters received endorsing them. So please brag on someone you think embodies the spirit of true sportsmanship.

Recommendations must be submitted either by email or letter signed by the person making the recommendation.

Please send to your recommendation by December 31, 2023 to:
Courtney Smith
581 S Old US RT 66
Edwardsville, Il. 62025
Email: avaloniaiw@att.net

The following individuals have received the medallion in the previous years:
Mariellen Dentino, Patricia Reilley, Lois Thomasson, Rosemary Wortman, Jackie Carswell, Linda Souza, Lloyd Simmons, Melanie Mercer DVM CCRT, Frances Abrams PHD, MB Kinsella-Topping, Jeanne Patterson, Doug Marx, Jill Bryson, Carol Gabriel and Joe Roland.

Thank You,
Courtney Smith, Outstanding Sportsmanship Award Chair

« Return to ALL NEWS